Critique; a process, a theory, a methodology.

I truly enjoy critique.  It can sometimes be long and at times exhausting- but it is also exciting and invigorating in that you get to discover and question new art work(s).  I think critiquing an artwork begins for me, through observation.  I ask myself what am I looking at and then along with that I begin to question and wonder about what it is that I am interpreting?  What within the work is making me feel that way or understand such notions?  I’m very much interested in the material or media choices made within an artwork as well, and how that may play a role in its meaning, if at all.

As an artist I am drawn to color, texture, composition, and materials so I love to really seek those things out within a work and comment on their success or possible failure within the work. (When I say failure, I merely mean at a stage in which it could be reworked or pushed further to be more successful – not true failure, but more progress oriented).

I think as artists we have the duty to look at works objectively and evaluate or critique them in that way.  I owe it to my friends to be honest, truthful, and critical of their work.  “This is really beautiful, or your work looks great,” are neither conducive statements to a critique.  You can comment on a works beauty but there needs to be more, why is it beautiful, what makes you say that, how did you get to that conclusion?  These five main questions of WHO, WHAT, WHERE, WHEN and WHY/HOW, that we learned in elementary school I think are super critical when talking about artwork.  They are all questions that can and should be answered within a critique.

Overall I suppose I critique in with very simple method; first observing, then interpreting, and finally back tracking to understand how or why I got to that designated interpretation.  Through my interpretation breakdown I also evaluate the quality, craft, and material of the work.  As artists we should be prepared to speak about our work and our process.  A critique should investigate such notions by asking questions about both the artist and the art work.

Leave a Reply

